How do I file a civil suit in Fairfax County?

Cases are filed at the Civil Division Clerk's Office, Room 211.You may print out and bring the forms with you, or the Clerk's Office can provide forms for you to fill out.Please note that clerks cannot provide legal advice. Filing fees are due at the time of filing.

How do I take someone to small claims court in Virginia?

To commence an action in small claims court the plaintiff must file a civil warrant. This may be a warrant in debt or warrant in detinue. A warrant in debt1 is a claim for money which must state a specific dollar amount claimed.

How do I file a civil suit in Virginia Beach?

​Filing information: Complete a Warrant in Debt form and set the court date 30 to 45 calendar days from date of filing. The form is available at the Clerk's Office or by mail. File with Clerk's Office either by mail or in person.

What happens if the plaintiff does not show up for small claims court?

If the Plaintiff does not show up for the trial and the Defendant does appear, if the Defendant asks, the Court may dismiss the case without prejudice. If the Plaintiff does refile the case and again fails to appear at trial, the Small Claims Rules say the Court may dismiss with case with prejudice.

How do I get divorced in Virginia Beach?

To file for divorce in Virginia, either you or your spouse must be a state resident for six months....Virginia Beach Divorce LawAdultery, including homosexuality.Conviction of a felony after the marriage, with imprisonment for one year.Cruelty that causes a reasonable fear of physical harm.Willful desertion for one year.

Can you get a divorce in Virginia without a lawyer?

o On the other hand, to get a “no-fault” divorce in Virginia, you only need to prove: that you've been separated for at least a year, or. However, in certain situations, you may be able to file for a divorce successfully on your own - without an attorney representing you.

How long does uncontested divorce take in Virginia?

An uncontested divorce typically takes two to three months before a judge finalizes it. Contested divorces usually take about 18 months. And if no party makes an appeal, contested divorces solidify 30 days after a judge signs the final decree.

Recent Posts



    Tell Us More About Your Second Wedding!

    1. How much did you spend on your second wedding?

    $0 - 1,000
    $1,001 - 5,000
    $5,001 - 10,000
    $10,001 - 20,000
    $20,001 or more


    Here's What You're Saying

    “I find your site extremely helpful and resourceful in dealing with the many and daily issues of parenting, co-parenting and life issues that come along.” –J.P.

    “I love the information you all provide. The magazine was so helpful in trying to navigate the remarriage with kids territory. Thank you for all of your information and inspiration you provide.” –K.W.

    “Have I mentioned HOW MUCH I love your site?!?!? It's really cool. . . . I'm getting married to a man that has two kiddos, and it's quite a lifestyle change for me!” –M.M.

    Win a Copy of
    Eat, Drink and Remarry

    This is not your mother’s second wedding! Getting married again? Wondering why the planning is harder than you thought it was going to be? Enter to win a copy of Eat, Drink and Remarry by Stacey Tucker!

    Tweets from RemarriageWorks!